An English-speaking tour around and in the former Revolutionary Museum will be held by the Friends of Vietnam Heritage (FVH) on January 16.
The building at 216 Tran Quang Khai Street (the former National Museum of the Vietnamese Revolution) was constructed in 1917 as the headquarters of the Indochina Department of Trade.
In 1954, when Hanoi was liberated, the Government Council led by President Ho Chi Minh decided to transform this building into a new Museum of the Vietnamese Revolution, which would showcase Vietnamese history from the mid-19th century to the present day. After five years of planning and development, the museum was officially opened to the public on January 6, 1959.
Major topics covered are the national liberation movements of the Vietnamese against French colonialists before the Vietnamese Communist Party was established during the period 1858-1930, the national independence struggle of the Vietnamese under the leadership of the Communist Party from 1930-75, and then the social construction of the country from 1976-19.
Since 2011, the museum has been merged with the National Museum of Vietnamese History.
To join the tour, RSVP to Mike, who will conduct the tour, at email@example.com. Meeting point: in front of the building in Tran Quang Khai Street.
The tour will last for two hours, from 9am until 11am. Cost: VND70,000 set donation to the FVH, plus entry fee to the museum.